SSI Assignment.

For my assignment research, I am going to use a mixture of primary and secondary data.

I will accomplish this by using articles, interviews and videos on YouTube that are relevant to the topic I have chosen which is Music Psychology and how/why music makes us feel the way we feel and react to certain styles/genres of music.

The way I will present my research in the form of an essay but use videos and images to make my research more interesting.

DSC_0374

Another way I will get research for my essay will be using experiments. An experiment I am thinking of doing is getting a group of people of different ages and backgrounds and play them 2-3 different songs that are the same and video their reaction and ask them how that certain piece of music makes them feel and what is going through their mind.

So the question I’m a looking to answer is:

“Does or can different styles/genres of music affect the way we think/feel and if so why?”

The kinds of things I am going to be looking at to get the best answer I can for this question is going to be looking at Music Psychology and also Mental Health and the way music can positively and negatively impact our thought process.

The method I am going to be using for my research is mostly Secondary data, this is because I will be using more books on Music Psychology and interviews on YouTube.

Here is one of the videos that I have found that explains how music affects the brain.

In this video Jessica talk about music and movement in humans and animals and why we respond to the music the way we do.

Below is a video of Hauke Egmermann explaining how we connect emotions to music.

In this video bellow james talks about the way that music classical.

“In times of superficiality and exteriorly, we need to learn to look into ourselves, and truly listening to music is a great way of doing this. Music is a trust worthy friend that can save you even in your darkest moments.”

In this video above James talks about the way that music, classical particularly can get you trough the worst tines in your life. he talks about his own experiences  and how music has been a lot more helpful and powerful in helping him more than any of the medication that he has taken over the years. he also talks about the inner self and how people nowadays don’t express what’s going on inside so they do things on the outside like use social media to make it a little easier rather than the other way round and doing more on the stuff that’s going on inside.

He plays a song for the audience that he believes will express mindfulness and thinks that everyone should take more time to just sit and be one with music for just 5 minuets and just connect to it and listen.

One of the way music affects us and the way we feel so much is because we associate different styles of music with different and experiences that we have been through with the music that we listen to in that moment. for example we associate sad songs with sad feelings and memories and we are in a sad mindset or if we are going through a hard time we find ourselves listening to music that represents that and that we feel we can relate too.

Another example of this would be the opposite, so when we are feeling happy or excited about something we listen to music that represents this by listening to more uptempo and upbeat songs that again, we can relate too.
The main thing that I have been looking at is music therapy and how professional therapists use music as a tool to heal or start to heal people who suffer with depression, stress, anxiety and other mental heath issues.

The reason why I am so interested in this concept is because I personally have been dealing with mental heath issues for a few years now and have looked into getting help through a therapist that uses music. in a way I do it myself because I have an app called Spotify and on their it has play lists made for everything you can think of every mood or event and it allows you to listen to that music and escape. I listen to music all day everyday it’s very rear that I’m not listening to music even playing my guitar helps it give me an escape from the world and it allows me to write my own songs to express how I’m feeling inside and I find it very helpful.

Below are screenshots that show some of the differnt catagories of playlists on Spotify.

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.03.34 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.03.55 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.04.18 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.04.37 PMScreen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.05.13 PM

Below is a video of a female therapist who works with hospitals mostly with patients who have tried to comte suicide and she takes the way that they will feel and plays that emotion on the guitar so that they can relate to it and connect to it so they feel more comfortable and trusting in her so that they can eventually talk about what’s going on in their inner self. this is obviously not a one day thing it takes a lot of time for these people to get to that point.this is proof that trying to get these patients to take straight off the bat is never going to work because you find that people who are going through these things are very enclosed and don’t tall about things which I know I do. but if you give them music and let them participate in it you’ll find that it gives them something they can release everything on.

I have carried out and experement to see what peoples reactions are to different types of songs. for thids experement i have chosen 3 different people to test my theory on, i have chosen 3 people that are very different to each other that have experienced differnt ups and downs throughout their lives and also thay all have a differnt music taste. for my experenent i will chose 4 differnt songs which are very different from each other. afet they have listend to the songs i will ask them 3 questions which are;

  1. How does this song make you feel?

  2. Does this song make you think of any spicific memories or times in your life?

  3. Do you believe that music can affect the way you think/feel and potentially have a positive and negitive affect on your brain?

You Need Me Man, I Don’t Need You – Ed Sheeran

The Hunter – Slaves

Vitamin C – Clean Cut Kid

Beethoven’s 5 Secrets – The Piano Guys

Jamie: as you can see from this video throughout the song he is not showing much emotion through his body language but he is constantly moving to the songs which shows that in his head he is annoying the song and it is making him feel good.

Neno:

This is where my question comes in:

Can different styles/genres of music affect the way we feel/think and if so why/how?

My answer to this is very much a yes, I certainly do. i think that music plays a massive part in every single persons life and I do believe that music is a massive part in recovery from mental illnesses  because as you can see from the videos that I have supplied on this research that there are a lot of aspects to music therapy and music phycology and it has proved to be very helpful for mental health patients. the one video that shows this the most is the professional therapist Hope.E.Young, where she explains how she uses music to help people get back to a better mental state with the power of music. what she does helps enforce trust bond with her patients so they can connect to her and the music so it mean that can eventually open up.

Overall I think music is a very powerful thing that has been around for thousands of years and has always been used as an escape for life and to help people to get back on their feet. no matter where you’re from what you do what you believe in or even who you are music connect everyone and makes us all unite and music is universal anyone can do it.

I do believe that music can change your life or even save it. I am proof of this.

Leave a Reply

